Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Kiki is pissed off..... But she isn't going to do anything about it.... - Sept. 01, 2007
I dont need a sign to tell me you are being an ass! - Jun. 12, 2007
Under new management - GET OVER IT!! - Dec. 16, 2006
Watch out world - we have arrived!! - Nov. 08, 2006
Return of the Martini.... - Oct. 10, 2006

Answers on a postcard please.....

May. 02, 2006 - 8:01 p.m.

Us Barland peeps have always had responsibilities, even more so with the new licensing laws. Not to serve minors, not to serve drunken people, not to allow people to buy alcohol for either of the previous parties. And of course we have a responsibility to the general public, to make sure our establishment is a safe and enjoyable place to visit. I find these duties pretty easy to fulfil, mainly because to me and the rest of my colleagues, they are logical. Sometimes though, there are situations where I feel I have other responsibilities, and often people's views on these are split quite drastically.

For example, what would you do if you saw a guy being abusive to his girlfriend in your bar? Or you suspected a guy of trying to get a girl drunk? Or you were certain a woman was using your bar to conduct an affair? All things that you couldn't prove, and even if you could, a lot of people would tell you to mind your own damn business. Sure, you could kick them out. But would it still play on your conscience?

Luckily most of these things don't happen all that often, so I sleep easy most nights! But there is one issue I have with my new place that has proved to be quite a debate trigger.

With new licensing laws you are not required to have a special licence for children to have access. As long as authorities feel you are providing a safe environment for them, they will allow you to cater for them. It is then up to the manager to decide where and when children should be allowed. This is where the element of debate comes in.

I, personally, do not agree with kids in bars. I think there are a few situations where it is acceptable; family parties in hired rooms or areas for example, places like Wacky Warehouse, which have fun things for the kids to do, are great, and by all means, take your kids out for dinner at a nice country pub once in a while. But that�s pretty much where I draw the line. In most other circumstances, I think the kids should be left at home.

Here's why:

1) Most pubs (even the nice ones!) are loud, smoky and full of people who have gone there to get drunk. A kid�s haven? I think not.

2) Many people who have gone to the pub for a night out have probably done so to get away from the kids � so let them have a night off for god's sake!!

3) If you are 8, pubs are boring. Ok so they are great for the first half an hour, its exciting to be somewhere where grown ups go, especially if it's past your bedtime! But once you realise your not allowed to play on the fruit machines and that there is no one else your age there, it sucks.

Unfortunately for me, our pub also has a restaurant, so our manager has decided we are to be known as 'Child Friendly'. But there are all too many parents who think that once they have finished their meals its ok to leave their kids to run riot while they get slowly sozzled with their mates. This is where my dilemma begins. At what point am I allowed to say "Don't you think its time you took you kids home and put them to bed?" Well, never really. It's none of my business how people bring up their kids. I can tell them to kindly keep their children under control but that�s about it. There are a couple of women that come in and do it on a regular basis, and whenever they are in I have to avoid the bar for fear of making my true feelings known. They are both pretty young, only about 30, single, and were obviously quite attractive once. They chat to blokes all afternoon and quite literally ignore their little girls. They buy them one drink all day and then leave them up to their own devices and yell at them when they dare bother them. The girls are a pair of little brats, but I still feel sorry for them. Its not surprising with mothers like that. I know I should just forget about it but I seriously worry about what kind of a life these girls have and wish there was something I could do about it.

The worst moral situation I ever found myself in was a few years back when confronted by a very heavily pregnant woman. She had a fag in one hand and a double Jack Daniels in the other and it clearly wasn't her first. I refused to serve her, and got into big trouble with my boss, who said it was her own decision if she wanted to drink while pregnant. Her right? What about the baby's right to be born without stunted growth or deformities? Surely purposely carrying out an act that is known to damage your unborn child is child abuse?

It�s certainly a tricky one! I'm not one to force my opinions on others, but then I shouldn't have to go against my principals. How can I be trained to be so vigilant of my public responsibilities in some circumstances but be expected to turn a blind eye in others? It doesn�t make sense. I, for one, am torn. Do what�s good for my business or my conscience�. What would you do?

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! Kiki Martini in no way advocates drink driving, binge drinking or anti social drunken behaviour. Drink responsibly kids!