Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Kiki is pissed off..... But she isn't going to do anything about it.... - Sept. 01, 2007
I dont need a sign to tell me you are being an ass! - Jun. 12, 2007
Under new management - GET OVER IT!! - Dec. 16, 2006
Watch out world - we have arrived!! - Nov. 08, 2006
Return of the Martini.... - Oct. 10, 2006

Watch out world - we have arrived!!

Nov. 08, 2006 - 5:05 p.m.

It finally happened!!

Last night was the dry run of my new pub. After one long year it is finally open. The last ten days have been amazingly fun (no one can drink quite like a pre-opening team!) super stressful (I now officially hate all builders, electricians, technicians and anyone else ever contracted in) and at times highly emotional (free beer + highly strung nerves = tears on quite a regular basis). I'm elated that my hard work has finally paid off, but feel strangely deflated, a little bit like when you get back off holiday and don't quite feel ready to go back to normality. It's strange to think that while I sit here writing, customers are sitting in my bar drinking, I've gotten so used to it being just me and the team! There were times when I truly thought it wouldn't happen - having a coffee machine without a power source and lamps without plug sockets on dry run day can do that to a girl - but it did, we pulled it off, and without wanting to blow my own horn, it was quite simply the best dry run in the history of Bar Land!

We managed to please both the old crowd and the youngsters with our combination of a listed building with cool retro decor, and almost everyone was impressed with the transformation (with the exception of the wino's and drug dealers that used to frequent) Only one thing managed to dampen my spirits a little.

Being so close to the company's head office, many of the M & B hierarchy were present. We all know that those within the industry can be the worst kind of customer, and I was expecting the odd critical eye and demanding attitude. Surprisingly, most of the insiders were really pleasant, complimentary and patient. What did shock me though, were a few of the ordinary locals who had been invited. If I got invited for a free drink and sneak preview of my new local I'd be well chuffed. Indeed most were, and most were really grateful for the hospitality and chance to be included. Yet others seemed only interested in what they could bleed out of us. Everyone who came in was given a free drink of choice on entry. Great stuff! We started to cook off some of the menu and sent it round for people to try. Even better! Silly us, we thought this was a nice touch, to show locals we wanted to be a part of the community and make them feel valued. I think most got the message. But some were less than impressed when the freebies stopped there. Why couldn�t they have more free drinks? Why couldn't they order free food off the menu? They seemed to think they were entitled to whatever they wanted! And as if all the complimentary booze and grub wasn't good enough, they then started to complain about things. Portions weren't big enough. We didn't have their favourite beer/wine. They didn't happen to like the colour of the ceiling/ the choice of fairy lights/ the position of the fireplace etc. Unbelievable!

It was explained to all on arrival that it wasn't our opening day, simply a chance to let people see the place and introduce ourselves, and more importantly a chance for the staff to practice on real customers rather than each other! It didn't occur to the freeloaders that this might mean staff might be a bit slower than usual and that things may go wrong. After all it was essentially a training session! It made me really mad to hear people complain that it took them a while to get served or that staff sometimes got confused about products. Even for the most experienced bartender, 22 continental draught products and their specific branded glassware are tricky to remember! One woman told me we should have ironed out all this problems before we opened. I asked her what exactly she thought the point of a dry run was - funnily enough she didn't have an answer!

All in all though, it was a fantastic evening, and luckily the ingrates were few and far between. Plus, having so many of the company bigwigs there meant we got to see them worse for wear, which was hilarious! There's nothing better than seeing your managing directors and marketing execs singing and dancing on tables! Something tells me there were more than a few sore heads in the office this morning! Here�s to hangovers! Cheers!

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! Kiki Martini in no way advocates drink driving, binge drinking or anti social drunken behaviour. Drink responsibly kids!