Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Kiki is pissed off..... But she isn't going to do anything about it.... - Sept. 01, 2007
I dont need a sign to tell me you are being an ass! - Jun. 12, 2007
Under new management - GET OVER IT!! - Dec. 16, 2006
Watch out world - we have arrived!! - Nov. 08, 2006
Return of the Martini.... - Oct. 10, 2006

Return of the Martini....

Oct. 10, 2006 - 3:23 p.m.

Woo hoo! Kiki is back!!

I have been away for a few months, and what a few months it has been! Not only did I escape the evil trappings of Restaurantville and survive the traumas of working The World Cup 2006, I successfully opened 2 new bars and even had time for a quick stop off in Pisa, Italy! And the best is yet to come, as the opening of the bar I originally applied for, one long year ago, is finally imminent.....

So! What have I learned during my absence?

1) I hate Restaurant goers. I dealt with so many complaints in the space of six months that I started to believe I was as 'abysmal' as they told me I was. Until I got back to normality, where people are reasonable, and waiting an extra 5 minutes for you food because it is busy doesn't completely spoil your birthday (no, really, I am actually responsible for ruining someone�s birthday/ year/ life because her food took 20 minutes). I can safely say I never wish to work in such an environment again. And I have only one thing to say to said customers - Just because you eat out most nights (have you ever used your kitchen??) and spend what you think is a 'disgusting amount of money' in my establishment, you don't have the right to talk to me or my staff as if we were the dirt beneath your Prada stilettos (which, by the way, don't make you look any classier - or younger!!). P.S. us poorer, 'less advantaged' people tip a hell of a lot better! And have MANNERS!

2) I'm a secret football hooligan! While normally cringing at the behaviour of Brits abroad, yobbish behaviour at footie matches and anything remotely �In-ger-land�, I couldn�t help being seduced by the magical atmosphere that descends on England during the World Cup. Feeling everyone come together to support their country is quite special. Trying to explain it to my Antipodean workmates was tricky. They just couldn�t understand the passion we exuded and the sheer devastation we felt after being knocked out, all over a mere game of football. I think, apart from all the stuff about pride in your country, it�s because of the party atmosphere. People have a reason to get together with their friends and celebrate where they don�t normally find the time. The end of a tournament feels like that miserable few days when you get back from a holiday and you aren�t quite ready to rejoin the real world yet. Whatever the reason, I was hooked. I even found myself singing, �I�m England till I die, I�m England till I die, I know I am, I�m sure I am, I�m England till I die�.�

3) As much as we like to think our new licensing laws are bringing a sense of European drinking culture to Britain, we still have a long way to go. I had an awesome time in Pisa visiting my fab friend Nina Caipirinha. We spent a lot of time at a particularly gorgeous beach bar where, at night, they rolled mats down the sand right up to the shore, and we sat on cushions, surrounded by candles, watching the sunset and sipping Mojitos. Amazing. Expect lots of European influence at my new place, including apperetivo. Free food! Why hasn�t it caught on yet?!

Coming up � I am simply chomping at the bit to get started on my new joint! On site work starts in just one week! Cue much drama and drinking, tears and tantrums and a running comment from yours truly! Can�t wait!! Till next time�.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! Kiki Martini in no way advocates drink driving, binge drinking or anti social drunken behaviour. Drink responsibly kids!